Skip to main content
Close

English & Maths

English

Location: General Teaching Building

A very warm welcome to English at BCA. The English Team at BCA thrive on helping our students fulfil their potential. 

All students who have not yet achieved a grade 4 will be enrolled onto GCSE English as part of their study programme. Students will develop the specific skills needed to achieve their target grade in lessons linked to vocational courses and employability.

Important Date:

Speaking & Listening assessment: January 2023

If the student produces their result sheet, which states: exam board, grade, and their unique candidate number (UCI), prior to assessment week, they will be exempt from the Speaking & Listening Assessment at BCA.

Maths

Location: General Teaching Building

All students who have not yet achieved a GCSE grade 4 in maths, and are 18 years old or younger at enrolment, will be enrolled onto a GCSE maths programme at BCA, which is part of their main study programme. A small number of students will be enrolled onto Functional Skills (FS) maths, Entry level 3, after careful consultation with ALS.

At BCA we aim to realise the potential of all our students and build their maths confidence. We believe that building confidence is half the battle won, leading to reduced anxiety and better performance.

We focus on bridging the skills gaps, identified in termly assessments. Students are encouraged to take ownership of their own progress and will be able to see at the end of each term how they have progressed and which skills they still need to focus on. 

The maths delivery is over 3 hours each week, a 2-hour lesson and a 1-hour lesson. Students are expected to take advantage of these lessons; attendance is carefully monitored; as well as use the suggested resources between lessons to hone their individual skills.

We aim to contextualise maths for our students in order for them to realise the importance of maths in their lives and to be prepared for their world beyond college. Increasingly we see employers looking for maths skills in their employees, and we want to see our students graduate with stronger skills and we offer them every opportunity to do so.

Departmental contact information

English Staff MemberJob TitleContact EmailContact Number
Jane ScottHead of Englishjscott@bca.ac.uk01628 827348
Michelle RobertsonTeam Leadermrobertson@bca.ac.uk01628 827318
Rupinder DhillonCurriculum Assistantrdhillon@bca.ac.uk01628 827468
Vicky GethingEnglish Lecturervgething@bca.ac.uk01628 827318
Angela MilnesEnglish Lectureramilnes@bca.ac.uk01628 827318
Tamsin NewmanEnglish Lecturertnewman@bca.ac.uk01628 827318
Roddy PetersEnglish Lecturerrpeters@bca.ac.uk01628 827318
Audrey RentonEnglish Lecturer arenton@bca.ac.uk01628 827318
Carlotta RubiniEnglish Lecturercrubini@bca.ac.uk01628 827318
Ilona ShieldsEnglish Lecturerishields@bca.ac.uk01628 827318
Leah FinneyLead English LSAlfinney@bca.ac.uk01628 827318
Theo BostockEnglish LSAtbostock@bca.ac.uk01628 827318
Maths Staff MemberJob TitleContact EmailContact Number
Sarah WallerCurriculum Director for Mathsswaller@bca.ac.uk01628 827332
Ali CarmenCurriculum Assistantacarmen@bca.ac.uk01628 827497
Filip SzatkowskiMaths Leadfszatkowski@bca.ac.uk01628 827497
Anthony FieldMaths Teacherafield@bca.ac.uk01628 827497
Dawid SzatkowskiMaths Teacherdszatkowski@bca.ac.uk01628 827497
Rachel AndersonMaths Teacherranderson@bca.ac.uk01628 827497
Rachna KumarMaths Teacherrkumar@bca.ac.uk01628 827497
Daniel CookMaths Teacherdcook@bca.ac.uk01628 827497
Sarah GilmourMaths LSAsgilmour@bca.ac.uk01628 827497
Maxine LattimerMaths LSAmlattimer@bca.ac.uk01628 827497

Downloads


Maths Resources

PDF · 1.15mb

Download